WHERE IS THE P A I N IN FASHION?

The popular line of “beauty/fashion is pain” does in fact have greater meaning behind it. I was recently reading an article in the newspaper related to the five main causes of back pain which is caused by our clothing!

The article listed the following items are the top five fashion causes of back pain:

  1. Skinny jeans
  2. Oversized bags
  3. Coats with a large puffy hood
  4. High heel shoes
  5. Backless shoes, such as Mules

After looking at the list for a second, I realized I am victim to ALL of the items – although my jeans are not skin-tight, they do tend to be on the skinnier side, my coat has a huge puffy hood, heels are my best friend, and oversized bags are my daily game. The backless shoes point I have no connection to; yet.

It all makes sense though really, a few years ago I read an article about a woman who’s skinny jeans were so tight that she actually had to be cut out of them, as her legs started swelling and numbing – how scary is that!

So, putting things into perspective, this doesn’t mean that you should stop wearing the above five mentioned items altogether, maybe just not for long periods of times, or during times when your back already is sore?

From a fashion perspective, here are my alternate solutions for the above items, just to ease your soul while you wait for the slap of this news to disappear.

  1. Skinny jeans try a pair of straight leg or boyfriend distressed jeans – those holes will definitely give your leg some room to breathe, and not to mention, they are definitely in right now.
  1. Oversized bags have you seen all the adorable mini bags recently – it seems like every major brand is now creating smaller versions of their classic bags. Also, have a look back on my post about the Louis Vuitton backpack – maybe it’s time to jump onto the backpack trend after all? 
  1. Coats with a large puffy hood living in Canada, this may be a tough one to pass up; being cold in a light hood vs. being comfy in a big Eskimo-styled hood. Maybe, try wearing a hat; yes I know it causes hat hair and statics strands, but it may be your solution. I have recently been putting my hair into a french braid on my more laid back days at work and I’ve been able to pull off the hat to and from work.
  1. High heel shoes Fashion may be calling on kitten heels and block heels but we will never get away from the classic stiletto guaranteed. The block heel is still my favourite and most comfortable option; and since they are very much in style now, I’m sure you can find an option to suit your needs.
  1. Backless shoes, such as Mules I have no reasoning for this one really, Mules were a hit a few decades ago and it looks like they’ve mad a comeback, but I’m sure they will disappear soon enough for you to wear them without really causing any damage.
Leave a Reply

