IMG_4795

I know I should be writing about the healthy food choices that I make, but how can I be real, transparent, and truthful with you if that’s all I show. We are all human and we all need a little bit of unhealthy grease once in a while.

A few nights ago, my husband and I were having a very lazy and difficult evening of the “what to make for dinner” debate – this happens once in a while, but he’s tired of my trying to make soup night after night.

So, has anyone ever made home-made french fries? I had totally forgotten how much better they are than the store-bought frozen ones or the ones fast food/restaurant ones! So, you guessed it, we pulled out the sack of potatoes and started peeling. We cut them up into fairly thick slices, then once more to make a nice sized fry.

I agree, this is not the healthiest of options; though potatoes are considered a vegetable, and one of my favourite vegetables, the oil we fry them in is not so great. Instead of frying them, you could also put the slices into the over, sprinkle some spices and salt and let them bake their way to crispiness. But, when craving calls, you answer.

My grandmother taught me one of the best lessons in terms of eating;

“Eat E V E R Y T H I N G but in M O D E R A T I O N.

I have tried to follow that technique and I’d say it’s been working out so far. I am lactose intolerant to I don’t eat any dairy, and I am not a fan of seafood, but other than that, I am trying to be more open with my food to expand to more items.

Leave a Reply

